Weekly updates:


Bars: all the music we’re listening to right now

This week's got new Tyler, Princess Nokia, Makonnen, and more

Posted by

Weekly updates

Bars is Acclaim’s weekly wrap up of all the music we want you to get in on. Whether it’s new albums, mixtapes, tracks, or videos, we’re here wading through the noise to bring you only the finest happenings in the world of music. Hit the list below to see what we’ve been bumping this week.

01. Tyler, The Creator – 'Who Dat Boy' and '911'

If you haven’t already watched Tyler’s latest clip ‘Who Dat Boy’ please hit play on the window above immediately. It’s confronting, dark, and exactly the kind of warped genius that we’ve come to expect from Tyler.

On the same day Tyler also gave us ‘911’ featuring Frank Ocean and Anna Of The North. Yeah, we got two new Tyler tracks in a single drop. WATTBA.

02. Leisure Suite – 'Shut Down'

Leisure Suite are back with their second release of the year ‘Shut Down’. On this single the duo have taken their trademark smooth sound and injected it with a hit of energy. It’s a great showcase of Leisure Suite’s personal and musical growth since 2014 when their debut EP captured everyone’s attention.

03. ILoveMakonnen – 'Back on the Xan'

ILoveMakonnen has dropped a video for his newest ‘Back on the Xan’ which was shot by Melbourne photographer Nic Ojae. The video sees Nic follow Makonen through 10 different countries, capturing the whole thing on 16mm film. More good news is that the track is as good as the video.

04. Princess Nokia – 'G.O.A.T.'

Princess Nokia just signed her first record deal and released new track ‘G.O.A.T.’ to celebrate. It’s just the first release for what’s sure to be a huge 12 months for the NYC rapper.

05. The xx – 'I Dare You'

For their latest video The xx have teamed up once again with British photographer Alasdair McLellan but this time they’ve added another name to the billing—Raf Simmons. Raf got involved in selecting the architectural and mood elements of the video but also brought along a cast of his muses like Ashton Sanders, Millie Bobby-Brown, and Paris Jackson. The video is an homage to Los Angeles, where The xx recorded their album I See You.

06. Montell2099 x 21 Savage – 'Hunnid on the Drop'

New Zealand beatmaker Montell2099 scored an absolute coup, with the help of Red Bull Sounds Selects, enlisting 21 Savage for his first single. The kiwi’s a rising star not just in NZ but worldwide especially since he’s been getting attention from people like Lorde, Sango, and Soulection. Now that he’s teamed up with Savage he’s surely about to blow.