Weekly updates:


Bars: SZA’s CTRL is finally here, Action Bronson’s back, and A$AP Mob’s feeling guilty

UNIIQ3, Sensible J, Todd Terje, and more have got your new music needs covered

Posted by

Weekly updates

It’s all too easy for your music choices to become repetitive and stagnant. One minute you’re listening to a great selection of new releases and feeling smug and up to date, and then the next thing you know you’ve spent an entire month listening exclusively to Prince and Sade and neglecting new music entirely. We’ve all been there.

That’s why Bars is here to collate the best new tracks each week for you, keeping your playlists fresh and your ears thankful. This week we’ve got a pretty impressive selection: SZA has finally released her long-awaited album Ctrl, Todd Terje has released his first new track since 2014, and A$AP Mob’s dropped the video for their single ‘Wrong’, just to name a few. Read on for more aural goodness.

01. 'TRUNK' by UNIIQU3

New Jersey based producer, DJ, vocalist, and recent NLV signee UNIIQU3 has gifted us with a real club starter in the form of her new track ‘TRUNK.’ Featuring Jersey club prodigy Yungkiid, the track possesses the pulsating bass, dance worthy groove, and sassy, unapologetic attitude we have come to expect from UNIIQ3. This isn’t the first time the pair have collaborated and each time they link up the results are nothing short of excellent.

UNIIQU3 will be hitting our shores this month to play at Sydney’s ‘Women in Electronic Music Showcase’ at Vivid and will be debuting ‘TRUNK’ at a single launch in Melbourne on June 15 at Boney. With her NLV Records label mates Nina Las Vegas, Lewis Cancut, and Swick joining her. Cop your tickets here.

02. 'Wrong' by A$AP Mob

A$AP Rocky and A$AP Ferg teamed up earlier this year for the single ‘Wrong’ and have now unleashed the aesthetically impressive video. Taking place in an abandoned church, the pair are surrounded by a flock of women decked out in extremely fresh white outfits, while Ferg wears googles and red patent pants and Rocky (somewhat controversially?) dons Diors infamous SS17 ‘We Should All Be Feminists’ t-shirt. It could be argued that because the song sees the duo lamenting how wrong their cheating, women-using ways are, the quote on the t-shirt makes sense. On the flip-side, can a song that refers to women as ‘bitches’ and ‘broads’ really be that feminist? Either way, its mellow chorus is guaranteed to be stuck in your head for the next while.

03. 'CTRL' by SZA

As of 2pm today, SZA’s extremely long-awaited album ‘CTRL’ is finally here to infiltrate your mind, body, and soul. Probably one of the most eagerly anticipated albums of 2017, the ‘CTRL’ track list was released several days ago, and with heavyweights like Isaiah Rashad, Kendrick Lamar, and Travis Scott featuring, it’s looking like ‘CTRL’ will have been well worth the wait.

04. 'Maskindans' by Todd Terje

The inimitable Norwegian producer Todd Terje is back with his first new material since 2014’s excellent ‘It’s Album Time.’ While he’s still hard at work in the studio completing his follow-up album, his new single ‘Maskindans’ gives us a welcome taste of what’s to come. A remake of a Norwegian dance track from 1983, ‘Maskindans’ is a dystopian dance groove with strong Kraftwerk overtones. Terje even brought Det Gylne Triangel, the group behind the original, into the studio to record new vocals with him, making this their first release in 25 years.

05. GL - 'Destiny'

After a huge summer playing at St Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Splore Festival (NZ), and Paradise Music Festival Melbourne duo GL have released the first half of their forthcoming double a-sided single ‘Destiny/Reflect.’ Following their critically-acclaimed 2016 debut album ‘Touch’, ‘Destiny’ is a sexy, bouncy yet somewhat melancholic track that does what GL does best by combining disco, soul, electronic pop and funk with slick songwriting.

06. 'Fire Sign' by Sensible J

The first official release from Australian based producer and beat-maker Sensible J, one half of the award-winning duo REMI, ‘Fire Sign’ is an instantly catchy groove. Featuring Sampa The Great and Remi, two huge names of the Australian hip hop scene, ‘Fire Sign’ features interwoven vocals and layers of funky hip-hop courtesy of Sensible J, and listening to Remi and Sampa bounce off one another is supremely enjoyable.

07. 'Brother Jedidiah' by Action Bronson

Things have been fairly quiet on the Action Bronson front for a while now—he’s got a pretty packed schedule being a Viceland television—but he has teamed up with the Alchemist and his pal Big Body Bes on a new track, ‘Brother Jedidiah.’ The chopped up gospel sample, bluesy, soulful vibe, and of course Action’s witty flow all combine to create a brief yet brilliant appetiser for Action’s upcoming album Blue Chips 7000. ‘Brother Jedidiah’ will feature on the Alchemist and Budgie’s upcoming album The Good Book Vol 2., out on July 21.

08. Deer - 'Patience'

Melbourne’s own Tom Hitchcock has been releasing consistently excellent electronic music as Deer since 2015 and his new single ‘Patience’ showcases his skills again. The song is a shimmery gem featuring heavy bass and warped vocals with energy that builds throughout. There’s an addictive quality to this track that we can’t, and don’t want to, deny.