Weekly updates:



New music from Nasty Mars, Sza, Craigiewave, Big Skeez and more!

Posted by

Weekly updates

Welcome to Acclaim Magazine’s Heat of the Week. Here are our picks for the best new local and international releases — Follow our playlist here for weekly updates of the best new music!

01. SZA - I Hate U

SZA doesn’t drop new stuff in a large volume, but each track is one worthy of playing at its loudest. ‘I Hate U’ is no exception, immediately solidifying itself as a break-up and move-on anthem. The songstress’ passionate vocals cut through the array of synths and keys in the instrumental, as she vehemently disowns the actions of a previous partner. It’s a soulful diss track, marking SZA’s continued takeover of the R&B scene. 

02. Big Skeez - Up

Song of the summer energy right here, with Big Skeez floating with finesse. His melodies smoothly flow over the top of an instrumental that pairs the sounds of afrobeat, rap, and baile funk, courtesy of mega-producer Swick. It’s the vibrance needed, as the warm weather begins
to kick in.

03. Kobi Spice x Sevy x Utility - Fiji Water

Kobi Spice’s new single ‘Fiji Water’ stays hydrated with its unique frenzy of rap and R&B. The Sydney rapper’s on-point flows float atop production from Utility, who polymerises heavenly harp samples with subwoofer-ready 808s. Sevy appears on the second verse, contrasting Kobi’s stern delivery with autotuned croons which serve as a boon for this track’s ear-catching vibe. 

04. Craigiewave - Vacant

Craigewave’s ‘Vacant’ is a vulnerable display of his versatility. Over a sombre set of synths and thumping kick drums, the West Melbourne artist delves into the aftermath of an ending relationship, articulating the adversity found in moving on through smooth, baritone vocals. It’s passion, over a pulsating instrumental. 

05. Nasty Mars - Sage ft. Boy Ace, Baro Sura

Nasty Mars is back in a triumphant fashion with ‘Sage’, an atmospheric, rap-sung anthem. It finds the Melbourne music staple experimenting with his flow, switching back and forth between bars and melodies in a seamless fashion, over a late-night drive-ready instrumental courtesy of Hancoq. Baro Sura and Boy Ace also make appearances here, adding their flavours to this smorgasbord of soul. 

06. Cochise - CAUTIOUS

Cochise thrives in the controlled chaos of ‘Cautious’. Distorted 808s and orchestra of vintage-sounding synths spiral in the background, serving as the backdrop for the rapper’s falsetto croons and swagger-heavy raps. Switching his cadence throughout, the track pinpoints Cochise as a versatile marauder, with this particular joint suited for any sort of mosh pit. 

07. Tierra Whack - Stand Up

‘Stand Up’ is an energy-filled display of pure rap. Tierra Whack brings her signature wittiness and braggadocio to each bar, proclaiming her confidence over minimalist production that consists of distorted bass and down-tuned drum patterns. It opens her new EP RAP? which is out now. 

08. Mike Akox - KaYaYo

Mike Akox’ ‘KaYaYo’ is a masterclass in afrobeat. Percussion swirls throughout the instrumental, beside summer-soaked plucks and synths which amplify the artist’s soaring melodies. It’s a fleeting 3 minutes of feel-good catchiness. 

09. Nico Ghost - Outta My

It’s no surprise Young Thug was messing with this new Nico Ghost single on Instagram Live, because it hits hard. Nico warbles over the top of glossy synths and bellowing sub-bass, thriving in the form of earworm melodies and fiery triplet flows. Lyrically, it finds Nico reflecting on the last 2 years he spent honing in on his craft, and displays the duality of his artistry, pairing real-life anecdotes with his arena-ready sound. 

010. Lil Dust - Money Moves

Wellington rapper Lil Dust turns up the heat for summer with his new single ‘Money Moves’, an attitude-driven trap anthem guaranteed to get your head nodding. Originally from the South Island, Lil Dust steps outside the box of traditional New Zealand hip-hop by taking influence from West Coast hip-hop and DMV styles. Powered by super catchy production by Stonrsmurf, Lil Dust belts out boastful raps about his booming lifestyle and adventures, setting the tone for his upcoming 2-track EP and a long-awaited debut album set to release in 2022.