Weekly updates:



Acclaim's favourite new tracks from home and around the world. New music from Lil Nas X, Real Deal Skeng, Biig Piig, Baro Sura and more!

Posted by

Weekly updates

Welcome to Acclaim Magazine’s Heat of the Week. Here are our picks for the best new local and international releases — Don’t forget to follow our Spotify playlist too, it’s updated every Friday.

01. Baro Sura x Silentjay - Call The Moon/Terrified

The often-enigmatic artist Baro Sura returns today with an A/B side in ‘Call The Moon/Terrified’ alongside Melbourne beatsmith SilentJay. Following up from their 2020 double-feature ‘What’s Wrong?/In Your Eyes’, the pair once again tap into an ethereal soundscape on the lead track ‘Call The Moon’, which pairs Silentjay’s eerie Lynchian sonics with Sura’s sincere yet effortless crooning.

Although it’s a slight departure from the Baro you may know, this dreamy love song would feel right home in a prom scene from a John Hughes film. It’s off-kilter, celestial and almost nostalgic—which strangely enough feels like the exact pocket Sura is supposed to be sitting in right now. Be sure to listen to the whole track because when that chorus of voices hits, you might just shed a sneaky tear.

02. Biig Piig - Tarzan

Biig Piig’s ‘Tarzan’ is a standout cut from her new EP The Sky Is Bleeding. Throughout the track, the Ireland-born, London-based songstress swings on ropes through euphoria, with a jungle made up of somber guitar, punchy basslines, and driving drum patterns. She toggles through soft-spoken passages and howling harmonies, reminiscent of the wind brushing against the trees throughout this soothing, sonic journey.

03. Real Deal Skeng - Stop Us

South East Melbourne trio Real Deal Skeng returns with this loud, in-your-face banger. Propelled by a percussion-heavy, 808 blasting instrumental, the group comes firing with bold, braggadocious proclamations in the form of catchy flows and confident bars. It’s the fast-paced explosion needed for your Friday and further evidence that nothing can stop the rise of RDS. 

04. Jaecy - Aaja

Bankstown’s Jaecy uses his new song ‘AAJA’ to detail his struggles and experiences growing up in Sydney’s west. Aywy sets the tone with eerie vocal samples and a cloudy atmosphere, providing all the space for Jaecy to let off passionate bars and tales of his adolescence, with each line packing a punch of realism. A.GIRL closes out the track with faintly sung vocals, making ‘AAJA’ feel like the orientation of a blockbuster movie career.

05. Lil Nas X - Sun Goes Down

‘SUN GOES DOWN’ is Lil Nas X’s message to his younger self, trying to uplift an adolescent who’s struggling with his identity and emotions. The motivation rings vibrantly throughout Lil Nas X’s ear-catching melodies, as he expresses his past turmoil and details his journey to contentment. Backing up this introspection is a glossy pop instrumental with jangly guitars and a sun-soaked tone, capturing the feeling of enlightenment that Nas X is expressing. 

06. Sofia Valdés x Ta-ku - Handful Of Water (Remix)

This new remix of Sofia Valdes’ ‘Handful of Water’ splashes with vibrancy. Acclaimed Australian producer Ta-Ku reshapes the instrumental with luscious keys and synth soundscapes, giving the song a sun-soaked, mountain-hike feel. At the summit is Sofia’s butter-smooth vocals, which feel like the fresh air coursing around as you take in the widespread view. This is one of many highlights off of Sofia Valdes’ extended version of her EP Ventura, which is out now.

07. A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie - 24 Hours ft. Lil Durk

A Boogie embraces his R&B potential with this new cut. It’s an airy, spacious ballad that details the happenings of romance, with the New York rapper showcasing croons rich with vehement over soft pianos and slow, brooding drums. Lil Durk appears on the latter end of the track, lending his signature melodies and providing his perspective on the track’s concept. It’s smooth, atmospheric, and perfect for the forthcoming Winter season.

08. Phi11a - Riot

Phi11a uses this new track to capture the energy of overcoming the hurdles and affliction of everyday life, and it manifests in the form of a sing-a-long, arena-ready anthem. Over somber guitar riffs and underwater-esque drum patterns, the Melbourne artist flexes his vocal chops, reaching new heights with his infectious, soaring melodies. It’s another example of Phi11a’s versatile skills and creativity.

09. Polo G - Gang Gang ft. Lil Wayne

Following the chart-topping success of ‘Rapstar’, Polo G takes a moment to appreciate his path in this new joint. He reflects on the adversity he faced and uses flex-heavy bars and melodies to signify his evolution and growth throughout the journey, over a bubbly trap beat that’s as rich as the fortune he’s accumulated with his work. Enhancing the concept is a verse from Weezy, who matches Polo’s energy with witty wordplay and a woozy, autotuned delivery, capturing the confidence that shines throughout this celebratory anthem.

010. RMR - Vibes ft. Tyla Yaweh

This new RMR single is the polymerisation of late-night R&B in a dimly lit bar, and free-spirited country riffing in the swamps of Florida. Trap drum patterns, wonky synths, and acoustic guitar chords make up the instrumental, providing the perfect opportunity for RMR to let off his unique, southern-tinged melodies, as he contemplates love throughout his croons. Lending a catchy, animated feature is Tyla Yaweh, who slides rig in alongside RMR, sounding like a reimagined version of Boyz II Men. It is, in fact, pure vibes.