Weekly updates:



New music from Sampa The Great, Kobie Dee, Agung Mango, Ari Lennox and more!

Posted by

Weekly updates

Welcome to Acclaim Magazine’s Heat of the Week. Here are our picks for the best new local and international releases — Follow our playlist here for weekly updates of the best new music!

01. Agung Mango - GUAP POP ft. Genesis Owusu

Agung Mango’s melodic raps thrive atop the colourful production of this new single ‘Guap Pop’. Synths spiral under his smooth flows, with bouncy drum patterns propelling this neo-soul-infused rap track into banger territory. Genesis Owusu appears for a feature, enhancing the atmosphere with an in-your-face cadence. This song is slated to appear on Mango’s upcoming EP MAN ON THE GO, dropping October 16th.

02. Sampa The Great - Mask On ft. Joey Bada$$

‘Mask On’ goes off. It switches between distorted, bellowing bass and laid-back, psychedelic passages, allowing for Sampa to showcase her versatility, toggling through airy sung vocals and impassioned raps. Joining in on the controlled chaos is Joey BadA$$, who fires off some food-for-thought lyricism. It appears on Sampa’s new album As Above, So Below, which you can stream now.

03. Eco$ystem - Ugh Huh

As soon as the reversed synths of ‘Ugh Huh’ appear, you know the track is about to hit. Eco$ystem lets off slick raps over the eerie trap beat, painting a picture of his self-made struggle and taking a moment to flex his success thus far. It’s a menacing, but motivating statement.

04. Ari Lennox - Waste My Time

Ari Lennox’s vocals soar atop the lush sounds of ‘Wasting My Time’. Enhancing these triumphant melodies is Ari’s witty storytelling, approaching the topic of romance with humour and transparency. It appears on her new project age/sex/location, which you can stream now.

05. Kobie Dee - Basics

Kobie Dee’s ‘Basics’ is a barraging celebration. The Gomeroi rapper speaks on overcoming the struggles of the past, detailing this journey through rapid-fire raps. Halfway through a beat-switch ensues, enhancing the energy, and allowing Kobie to make a mission statement on the success he manifested.

06. Baby Prince - Shake ft. BLESSED

Baby Prince finds the bounce of the atmospheric trap beat easily on ‘SHAKE’, firing off woozy flows that float atop the thumping 808s. BLESSED handles the second verse with laid-back croons, culminating in these two solidifying themselves as a duo we want to hear more from. The track appears on Baby Prince’s new EP SpriteSchool Vol.2, which you can stream now.

07. Raf Receipt - LAVIDA

Raf Receipt’s ‘LAVIDA’ is a luscious, dance-ready anthem. The singer’s howling vocals reverberate atop the silky, afrobeat-inspired production, feeling like the sonic rendition of a club’s smoky haziness; an atmosphere this song is bound to thrive in.

08. Blood Orange - Jesus Freak Lighter

Damn, it’s always nice to hear Dev Hynes. ‘Jesus Freak Lighter’ perfectly showcases the rewarding risks he takes under the Blood Orange moniker, dropping reverb-soaked falsetto passages over sombre guitar strums. We sure hope that this is the first taste of a forthcoming album.

09. Dann Dib - Moon ft. RAIZA BIZA

Dann Dib’s ‘Moon’ is a track that thrives in its relaxed ambience. Lo-fi soul samples are propelled by heavy drum loops, providing a backdrop for the Melbourne artist’s buffet of bars. New Zealand’s RAIZA BIZA drops in for a feature, dropping a quick rap frenzy on the back-end of this summer-ready anthem.

010. Sleepy Hallow - 2 Mins of Pain

Sleepy Hallow pops off on ‘2 Minutes of Pain’, a slicing drill track that definitely doesn’t overstay its welcome. His flows are rapid-fire from the beginning, wasting no time over the gliding 808s and scattered percussion. This straightforward approach is striking, allowing Hallow all the room needed for him to bring the heat.