Weekly updates:


The best new music releases of this weekend will heat up your winter

Featuring Drake, Gucci Mane, Travi$ Scott, Fetty Wap and more...

Posted by

Weekly updates

You know when Drake is scheduled to host an hour of OVO Sound Radio, it’s going to be a big weekend, but you’d be forgiven for not being prepared for how immense this past weekend really was. Beginning on Friday June 3 and continuing on right through to the final hours of Sunday June 5, the first weekend of winter turned out to be a scorcher. We collect the best of the bunch, for your listening pleasure.

  • Words: James Schofield

01. 'Back on Road' - Gucci Mane x Drake

Likely the hottest release to come out from Drake’s turn behind the helm of OVO Sound Radio’s 23rd episode, this collaboration with Atlanta legend Gucci Mane comes only days after Gucci’s release from a lengthy stint in prison. Played out over deep bass thumps and what sounds like a well utilised pan flute (!), Gucci cops the hook from Drake on this one, and turns out one of the better songs of his entire career.

02. 'Gwan Big Up Urself' & 'Why' - Roy Wood$

One of three songs OVO label member Roy Wood$ released last night during a stint as the second DJ for OVO Sound Radio, ‘Gwan Big Up Urself’ is a summery, calypso dream, recalling similar imagery and moving with a similar vibe to those found on Drake tracks ‘Controlla’ and the smash hit ‘One Dance’.

By some great contrast, ‘Why’ is a dark, ambient R&B offering more similar to previous releases seen from Roy Wood$, with the OVO signee crooning over an ethereal falsetto backing recalling the sounds of OVO affiliate The Weeknd. With Wood$ announcing his next project, Waking at Dawn, due in July, it’s only a matter of time before the sound of Roy Wood$ starts to pop up everywhere.

03. 'Champions (Round and Round)' - G.O.O.D. Music

Arguably the biggest release of the weekend, the first official track from the upcoming G.O.O.D. Music Compilation album Cruel Winter (itself a follow-up to 2012’s Cruel Summer) features a massive list of artists including G.O.O.D. Music members Kanye West, Desiigner, Big Sean, Travi$ Scott and guest contributions from 2 Chainz, Gucci Mane, Yo Gotti and Quavo (of Migos). Between a warring blend of grandiose synths and firm bass thumps, the group pull together for one of the hottest tracks to hit the airwaves this year, even if all that exists of it so far is a radio rip taken from its premiere on Big Boy in the Morning.

Notably,  the track does appear to be missing G.O.O.D. Music president Pusha T, however this may only be short-lived if Kanye West is to be believed, as the G.O.O.D. Music founder teased a 15-minute extended version of the track in the works.

04. 'For Free' - DJ Khaled x Drake

The OVO mastermind himself, Drake, was a very busy man over the weekend, with the 6 God making an appearance on this groovy DJ Khaled cut. Luckily, DJ Khaled makes way for Drake to do his thing, as he raps about how he shouldn’t have to fuck for free, throwing a shout out to Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly in the process. It’s only a matter of time before this track finds itself on club playlists everywhere, as the danceable track looks set to prove a smash hit for Drake and DJ Khaled.

05. 'Pick Up the Phone' - Travi$ Scott x Young Thug (ft. Quavo)

Another track fit for a holiday to the Caribbean, Travi$ Scott drops the first official taste of upcoming album Birds in the Trap Sing McKnight (which is rumoured to be dropping any day now) with this collaboration between himself, Young Thug and Quavo (of Migos). A hot cut from some of music’s hottest acts, this previously teased single has been highly anticipated for a reason, and delivers on all of the hype.

06. 'Still Brazy' - YG

Prepping the release of new album Still Brazy (due June 17), YG took to the web to drop the album’s bouncy title track, which joins previous album single ‘Why You Always Hatin’ in suggesting that the Compton rapper’s newest full-length may yet prove to be his most popular.

07. 'One Dance (Remix)' - Justin Bieber

Another offering from Drake during his hour-long stint behind the controls of OVO Sound Radio’s latest episode, the heavily teased contribution to Drake’s smash hit single ‘One Dance’ by fellow Canadian Justin Bieber flexes the vocal talents of the latter, while sticking to the popular danceable vibe of the original. With Bieber’s offering only available as a stand-alone effort, for now, it’s likely only a matter of time before the official version drops to take over the charts.

08. 'Westside' - Fetty Wap x Snoop Dogg

One of two new Fetty Wap songs to hit the net over the weekend, this collaboration between Fetty and rap legend Snoop Dogg sees the pairing offering up an ode to the West Side, while a groovy baseline follows them through. One of the better Fetty Wap songs to have ever seen the light of day, ‘Westside’ could well be the Jersey man’s next hit. It’s not ‘Trap Queen’, but then ‘Trap Queen’ didn’t have the OG, Snoop D-O-Double G.

09. '4PM in Calabasas' - Drake

The last of the new tracks Drake premiered on OVO Sound Radio sees the 6 God take the spotlight solo, ditching a hook to offer up a stream of consciousness offering over a smooth, soulful beat typical of Drake’s popular catalogue. Rumoured to contain a P Diddy diss, ‘4PM in Calabasas’ sees Drake at his most biting, sounding arguably more urgent here than on any song from this year’s VIEWS. With Drake hinting at more new music to drop later this year, could this be the first taste of a new album?

010. 'Still Scratching' - DMX (ft. Styles P)

If you weren’t paying close attention, you’d be forgiven for not knowing that rap legend DMX is still making new music, and even that he reportedly has an album in the works rumoured to feature Kanye West and Dr Dre. ‘Still Scratching’, featuring a guest appearance by Styles P, is everything you would hope to expect from a DMX release. If this had been released in 1999, you likely wouldn’t have thought a thing of it, but it certainly can’t be accused of sounding out of place today with DMX sounding as hot as ever.