Weekly updates:



Acclaim's favourite new tracks from home and around the world.

Posted by

Weekly updates

Welcome to Acclaim Magazine’s Heat of the Week. Here are our picks for the best new local and international releases — Don’t forget to follow our Spotify playlist too, it’s updated every Friday.

01. Princess Nokia - It’s Not My Fault

This new track from the New York rapper is an anthem dedicated to self-confidence, and feeling yourself. The message is clear as Princess Nokia raps “It’s not my fault, that I’m that bitch” over a minimalist yet bass-heavy instrumental that allows plenty of room for her to shine through bars of wit and flexes. It’s straightforward and simply slaps.

02. Phil Fresh - IG Luv ft. Kymie, Kwame

This new track from this Sydney trio of artists tackles the art of sliding into DMs and glides with a vibrant, colourful mixture of hip-hop and R&B. Fluttering synths and keys fill the atmosphere in the background, creating a euphoric base for the melodies on the hook to shine, and the witty bars of Phil Fresh and Kwame to flourish. It creates the feeling of an undeniable love record from the early 2000s but reimagined for the URL world.

03. Lil Nas X - MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name)

At last, after several snippets and teases, Lil Nas X has dropped the highly anticipated ‘Montero (Call Me By Your Name)’. As promised, this anthem delivers, with autotuned melodies and a sing-a-long chorus soaring over flamenco guitars and a Latin-influenced drum tempo. Get familiar now, because this is one you’re going to hear a lot over the next few months. 

04. UMI - Pretty Girl Hi Reimagined

Seattle songstress Umi has just dropped Introspection Reimagined, a reprise of the smooth, soothing R&B of her 2020 EP. An instant standout is a new version of ‘Pretty Girl Hi’, which transforms the bubbly original track into a stripped-back, warm ballad. This new take puts the focus on UMI’s unique yet undeniably soulful vocals, backed by only the flutters of a piano and sax reminiscent of a late-night walk through Emerald City.

05. Brockhampton - BUZZCUT ft. Danny Brown

Your favourite boyband is back with this new, crushing rap extravaganza. ‘Buzzcut’ is essentially the perfect name for it, as the gritty drums, a menacing bassline, and wailing siren samples alongside in-your-face verses from Kevin Abstract and Danny Brown cut close to the skin, before the track closes out in a triumphant switch where Joba provides a hymn, and Merlyn proclaims with chants. It’s loud, abrasive, and undeniably fire.

06. BLKCITY - Pogba

This new anthem from New Zealand supergroup BLKCITY pays homage to soccer star Paul Pogba and is a game-winning goal kick while doing so. Members JessB, Raiza Baiza, Mo Muse, Blaze the Emperor, and Abdul Kay provide back and forth bars sharing their experiences as African-New Zealanders over an ear-catching afrobeat instrumental courtesy of Tony EF Beats, creating a celebratory tone filled with impressive wordplay. This track is set to appear on the group’s upcoming debut album, which is set to release in the middle of this year.

07. Baker Boy - Ride ft. Yirrmal

This new single from the Arnhem Land artist is all about one thing; having fun. Its funky basslines, dance-ready drums, and overall smile-inspiring aura complement the enthusiastic vocal delivery of Baker Boy and his cousin and collaborator Yirrmal, making this a well-equipped anthem for your next cruise or day trip. 

08. Nerve - Missed Calls

Nerve is back with his new single ‘Missed Calls’, and it’s a testament to his versatility. The track finds the Brisbane wordsmith flexing his melodic chops on the hook, before transitioning into his signature barrage of bars on the verses. Nerve provides an introspective take on being selective on who he spends time with, and the draining aspects of his lifestyle, with this reflectiveness happening over bellowing 808s, reverberated synths, and howling vocal samples courtesy of Skaro Beats. This anthem is set to appear on his upcoming EP Australian Horror Story, set to drop soon.

09. Sleepy Hallow - 2 Sauce

This latest cut from Brooklyn prospect is a unique take on New York Drill. It features the hard-hitting 808 slides and tempo of the rapidly rising genre, but paired with a laid back, smooth delivery from Sleepy Hallow, creating a catchy contrast, while still bumping in the whip. It’s set to appear on his upcoming debut album, which we’re eager to hear.

010. Calboy - Miseducation ft. Lil Wayne

Serving as a homage to The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill, this latest cut from the Chicago rapper is another example of his versatility. Flowing over a soulful, atmospheric beat from Austin Powers and OZ, Calboy pens a tale about the consequences of getting caught up in the streets, using his own experiences to create imagery with a sincere tone. The track features a verse from hip-hop legend Lil Wayne himself, who adds a veteran perspective to the story being told, with his signature, woozy melodies blending into Calboy’s vision seamlessly.