Weekly updates:


Weekend Music Round-Up, August 8

The first weekend in August delivers the goods

Posted by

Weekly updates

It’s hard to believe we’ve already made it all the way to the eighth month of 2016, but sure enough, August is upon us and the year is slowly approaching its end. And, while we may not have received the long-awaited and hotly anticipated second album from Frank Ocean on Friday, the first weekend of August still came through with a handful of music releases to soothe the abandonment issues left by Ocean’s continued absence.

  • Words: James Schofield

01. Skrillex & Rick Ross – 'Purple Lamborghini'

DC Comics’ film adaptation Suicide Squad finally saw its release in cinemas last week, with film pundits divided in their opinions on the long-awaited project, and critics generally panning the film. Nonetheless, the accompanying album for the film has been received arguably better, with the Rick Ross and Skrillex collaboration ‘Purple Lamborghini’, particularly, turning heads upon its release. Now the release has received its own visual, finding Jared Leto’s The Joker joining Skrillex and Rick Ross on a chaotic tour through Gotham City.

02. Flux Pavilion & NGHTMRE – 'Feel Your Love' (ft. Jamie Lewis)

Buzzing producer NGHTMRE links up with personal idol Flux Pavilion for this hard-hitting electronic effort, with the pairing pulling no punches for their first collaboration and whetting the appetites of fans around the world with promises of more to come. Listen below.

03. Juicy J & Travi$ Scott – 'No English'

Frank Ocean wasn’t the only one who skipped an album release on Friday, with Travi$ Scott fans anxiously awaiting the date as the supposed release for the trap star’s second studio album Birds in the Trap Sing McKnight. Needless to say, fans are still waiting for the project to see the light of day, but were given this visual for Scott’s collaboration with none other than Juicy J (from the latter’s own upcoming album) to ease their pain. A moody, black-and-white affair, it might have been just enough to keep Travi$ Scott fans happy for the weekend, but fingers crossed the album sees its release sooner rather than later.

04. 2 Chainz & Drake – 'Big Amount'

2 Chainz released latest mixtape Daniel Son; Necklace Don over the weekend, with the Karate Kid-inspired title being led by this collaboration between the artist formerly known as Tity Boi and OVO head honcho, Drake. Taking the Asian inspiration of the project’s title literally, 2 Chainz and Drake rap together over a flute background, recalling Drake’s own earlier collaboration with Gucci Mane, ‘Back on Road’. You can listen to the newest 2 Chainz mixtape in full here, and hear ‘Big Amount’ below.

05. iLoveMakonnen – 'Side2Side'

iLoveMakonnen, formerly a member of OVO Records, is still trying to prove he is more than a one hit wonder, and will be hoping that latest single ‘Side2Side’ will help show it for him. Whether it does, or doesn’t, is for you to decide. Are you vibing with Makonnen’s new release?

06. PARTYNEXTDOOR – 'Don't Do It For You No More'

Only a few short days away from the release of second studio album, and third full-length project, P3, OVO’s PARTYNEXTDOOR has liberated two new songs. Though only one has been confirmed as an album track, PARTYNEXTDOOR still took the time to liberate the beachy, upbeat ‘Don’t Do It For You No More’ for fans anxious to hear more from the Canadian. Thankfully, they will only have to wait until this Friday, August 12, to hear P3 in its entirety.

07. Lance Skiiiwalker – 'All Stops'

Top Dawg Entertainment’s latest mysterious signee Lance Skiiiwalker has liberated his latest single and visual ‘All Stops’. A moody, lo-fi R&B effort, the visual follows the theme of travel and elements of displacement, and continues Skiiiwalker’s run of ambiguous, intriguing releases.